Violin Forum/Message Board Forum Index Violin Forum/Message Board
Provided by Violin Vision

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Help choosing beginner violin

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Violin Forum/Message Board Forum Index -> Musician's Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
dpulse

PostPosted: Wed Nov 10, 2010 6:23 am    Post subject: Help choosing beginner violin Reply with quote

Hi!
I'm new to violins (but own and play piano and guitar, also used to study the accordeon). To satisfy my newfound interest in this nice sounding instrument i'm planning to buy a cheap beginner's violin. So far a few violin sets have caught my attention:
** a Cecilio cvn-100 violin set with a case, bow, extra strings,extra bridge, shoulder rest, tuner with Metronome and 1 year warranty which sells on ebay for just 89.99dollars(apparantly its a great deal with its retail vallue being ~200dollars). Ebay link
**a custom Crescent violin set with a case and bow. Ebay link
**and an Antoni beginner class violin in my town's music shop(no idea about the excact model, but here it costs ~150dollars. Maybe the price would help find a matching model, although its most likely pretty overpriced here)

Would someone be so kind to help me choose a suitable set(doesnt have to be from my list) to experiment with? I'm looking for something cheap so i can play around with it and then see if i like it and commit myself to this instrument without having to risk much money in case i wont like it, but also i'd like it to be of reasonable quality so the experience wouldnt be spoiled by really bad sound because of horrible design/material.