Violin Forum/Message Board Forum Index Violin Forum/Message Board
Provided by Violin Vision

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

violin music on guitar

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Violin Forum/Message Board Forum Index -> Everything Else
View previous topic :: View next topic  
GuitariAri

PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2011 12:21 am    Post subject: violin music on guitar Reply with quote

I am a guitarist who loves violin music. I've been doing some research on famous transcriptions of violin music to guitar, and I'd like to get the opinion of some violinists on this work. I wrote articles on two of my favorites:

J.S. Bach's Chaconne on Classical Guitar
Paganini's 24 Caprices on Classical Guitar

Obviously I picked some of the hardest pieces out there! But then again, that makes it more fun Smile
Lemuel
Site Admin

PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2011 10:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello GuitarAri,

Thanks for introducing yourself to the forum. I hope you find this forum helpful to you.

I love guitar also, and have a number of pieces for violin and guitar. Guitar is often an accompaniment like the piano is to the violin.

What sort of opinion are you seeking? The guitar although it cannot duplicate many effects of the violin, it is nevertheless still beautiful, a different form of art.

The guitar transcriptions are excellent
GuitariAri

PostPosted: Thu Jan 13, 2011 12:18 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Lemuel,

Thank you for the speedy reply! I'm glad that you liked these transcriptions. You asked what sort of opinion I was looking for. I guess that I wanted to know if any violinists thought that the music somehow lost its effect completely when played on guitar.