Violin Forum/Message Board Forum Index Violin Forum/Message Board
Provided by Violin Vision

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Any bow makers here?
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Violin Forum/Message Board Forum Index -> Bow Making Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
ctviolin

PostPosted: Thu Oct 25, 2012 12:21 pm    Post subject: Any bow makers here? Reply with quote

Just curious,
I must admit to an interest in this pursuit.
Though I do have appropriate raw wood, I have never managed to carve a decent bow on my own.

I would be self-taught if I did manage to carve a decent one - but I must say, I never have managed it.

I also admit to having a question with regard to this; are there any experienced bow makers here willing to get into it?
ct
Ed Shillitoe

PostPosted: Fri Oct 26, 2012 10:45 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Craig:

I have been making bows on and off for 40 years now. Mostly I make reproductions of baroque and 19th century bows, but I have done a few modern bows. I gave up for many years after I became allergic to pernambuco dust, but got back to it with beech and bloodwood.

You can get experience with bows much faster than with violins. On the other hand you need a metal-turning lathe and a mill, or a convertible machine that does both. Also you need to solder silver and work with pearl. I find it a fascinating combination of techniques and materials!

Good luck!

Ed
ctviolin

PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2012 9:25 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ed Shillitoe wrote:
Hi Craig:

I have been making bows on and off for 40 years now. Mostly I make reproductions of baroque and 19th century bows, but I have done a few modern bows. I gave up for many years after I became allergic to pernambuco dust, but got back to it with beech and bloodwood.