Violin Forum/Message Board Forum Index Violin Forum/Message Board
Provided by Violin Vision

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Some varnish thoughts

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Violin Forum/Message Board Forum Index -> Violin Making and Restoration Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
shershey

PostPosted: Mon Mar 26, 2007 2:23 pm    Post subject: Some varnish thoughts Reply with quote

Jeez guys and girls,

I just found this web site and was pleased to see the vast interest in the violin making and varnishing topic. You are all very much into this craft. That's great! I do have a few thoughts I would like to share with you.

First, I have been making violins, violas and cellos for well over 25 years and have just finished number 120. Over the years, I have gained quite a bit of practical as well as educational knowledge about my craft. I too (in the beginning) was searching for the "Holy Grail" in violin varnish. making way too many experiments, spending way too much time and money majoring in minors. Some good stuff was learned but, I mostly wasted my time. Time, I should have spent carving fiddles. Yes, like you, I did the Fulton varnish method along with all the other ones you have been discussing in this form. But, what I eventually came back to was, the realization that less is really more. Yes, less mass more movement (at least for varnish). For the past 20 years, I have been making and using a "spirit type" varnish. This varnish has Venice turps in it, copal, shellacs, and yes, linseed oil, along with stock lack and mastic. And like Michael Darnton, I too use shellac as my base coat. Now, I'm not suggesting this is the "end all" of varnishes, it just works well for me and my method of making. Spirit varnish can be a real bear to apply and you really have to keep moving when brush