Violin Forum/Message Board Forum Index Violin Forum/Message Board
Provided by Violin Vision

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Oblivious Adolescent Autodidact

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Violin Forum/Message Board Forum Index -> Introduction, Rules and Suggestions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Ben Hodson

PostPosted: Thu May 23, 2013 6:05 pm    Post subject: Oblivious Adolescent Autodidact Reply with quote

Hello,

My Name is Ben Hodson.
I am a 19 year old student, and I am currently working on my Masters degree of Education on my university.

A while ago I discovered my father's music collection which, to my surprise, contained a vast amount of classical music ( he usually prefers classic rock ).

I suppose I've always underestimated classical music, and never really gave it a go. Though I was rather surprised when I heard the first of his tunes- Rachmaninov's no. 2 op 18, moderato. I've only really listened to erik satie's gnossienes before but I was really surprised to hear that the violin is such a beautiful instrument.

After that I became interested and started searching for random symphonies by various composers. My knowledge of it all is not even worth mentioning- I know nothing about classical music, though I can't deny the fact that I've become eager to find out more.

And now I find myself attracted to the violin. I think it's a beautiful instrument and, regardless of my age and busy study curriculum, I'd like to devote myself to the violin.

Which has brought me to this forum. I admit that I might be severely underestimating the art of playing music. though I intend to take it very seriously.

I'd like to hear your advice as to what steps you think would be appropriate for me to take, and what things I should consider before I even start playing.