Violin Forum/Message Board Forum Index Violin Forum/Message Board
Provided by Violin Vision

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Making a 6ft long bow...help!
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Violin Forum/Message Board Forum Index -> Bow Making Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
saralynn

PostPosted: Sun May 26, 2013 3:52 am    Post subject: Making a 6ft long bow...help! Reply with quote

Hello!
I am a current sculpture student. My work plays between a balance of visual art and music. I am currently trying to realize a piece in which I use a six foot (2 meter) long bow to play on a double bass. The idea is that it will be so long that two people will be needed to control the bow and one person to hold the double bass and finger the chords. All three performers will then have to work together in order to make the instrument play.

So, my first obstacle is making the 6 foot long bow. Because it is not possible to use horse hair or synthetic bow hair (i already contacted manufacturers) what is the next best option? I am planning to do some tests with polyester thread and nylon thread today. Is this at all possible?

Also do you have any tips for the rest of construction? Types of wood? Someone recommended Beech to me. Keep in mind I'm not expecting it to be the highest quality bow ever, but I really do need it to make some kind of bow sound.

Please any advice would be much appreciated! Thank you!
SooT

PostPosted: Sun May 26, 2013 11:31 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Suggest you contact Incredibow.com. They make synthetic bows and use synthetic bow hair, they might be able to supply the length you need.
saralynn

PostPosted: Sun May 26, 2013 11:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote