Violin Forum/Message Board Forum Index Violin Forum/Message Board
Provided by Violin Vision

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Pegheads, Wittner Finetune Pegs
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Violin Forum/Message Board Forum Index -> Violin Making and Restoration Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Cliff Green

PostPosted: Sat Jan 11, 2014 11:08 am    Post subject: Pegheads, Wittner Finetune Pegs Reply with quote

Any opinions on the use of Pegheads or Wittner Finetune mechanical pegs. I have no experience with either.
fjodor

PostPosted: Sat Jan 11, 2014 5:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have tried the Wittner model and think they work pretty well. It can be a bit tricky to ream the holes to the right size, because they have to be pressed in quite hard to stay in place. I'm planning to install them on my latest violin (that is soon finished) as well.
L P Reedy

PostPosted: Sat Jan 11, 2014 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I like both and find Perfections (Knilling version of PegHeds) a little easier to install. As fjodor said, you have to be very careful with the Wittners to ream the holes just right. It is VERY easy to slightly over ream them.
Ken Pollard

PostPosted: Sat Jan 11, 2014 7:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've used Wittners a few times, and would like to like them, but I have reservations.

I've used them on a full-size fiddle of my construction, and they were wonderful.