Violin Forum/Message Board Forum Index Violin Forum/Message Board
Provided by Violin Vision

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Pawn shop Hopf?
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Violin Forum/Message Board Forum Index -> Violin Making and Restoration Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Spudchucker

PostPosted: Fri Feb 07, 2014 11:31 pm    Post subject: Pawn shop Hopf? Reply with quote

Hi everyone, first post!

I'm new to playing violin (been doing it by ear for a little over 3 months now) and I recently bought a very old violin from a pawn shop for $135. It has HOPF stamped on the back, and while the research I did before buying it said chances are it's fake, it sounded far better than my borrowed Chinese violin despite being very out of tune so I happily brought it home.

After tuning it and discovering that unlike my cheap violin, this one would resonate with some incredible overtones if my fingers landed just right, I'm starting to actually think it might be the real deal. (I'm not kidding when I say it's the most beautiful thing I've ever heard/felt!) Unfortunately someone has already ruined the finish with a terrible varnish job (more on that later) but the sound and build quality seem pretty impressive to my untrained ears!

Before going too far, I was wondering if I could get some opinions and thoughts on this violin based on pictures and a sound clip played by a newbie? (yours truly!)

Here's the whole thing (that extra chin rest is gently holding a small area that came unglued together):

Close-up of the wood grain:

Side shot:

"HOPF"

Cheap neck someone replaced the original with at some point (probably the same guy who wrecked the original finish)