Violin Forum/Message Board Forum Index Violin Forum/Message Board
Provided by Violin Vision

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Beginer; Need Help With Jumping Strings

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Violin Forum/Message Board Forum Index -> Musician's Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
rightbackatyou

PostPosted: Sun Aug 12, 2007 11:12 am    Post subject: Beginer; Need Help With Jumping Strings Reply with quote

I've been playing violin for about 2 months now and it seems I've hit something of a wall in that I'm having trouble with the fingering when switching from notes on the D string to notes on the A string.

I have difficulty smoothly moving from say G or F# note to A, B, C#. I've been practicing on this one exercise in my book (All For Strings) for about a week now and still can't seem to play the song smoothly at all.

Is there some kind of warm up song or exercise that I could do that would give me alot of practice moving between strings? The Meow-Mix song helped me alot in moving my fingers correctly on one string, now I'm looking for a song that could help me practice jumping from one string to the next, something that I could do for like 10-15 minutes each morning before I start doing my exercises out of the book?

Thanks a million.
BARRY S.

PostPosted: Fri Aug 17, 2007 6:28 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi RightBackAtYou,

Welcome to the forum Smile

Glad youve had loads of help on "FiddleForum", surprised nobody on here has answered you Sad

Im pretty new to it myself. I have lessons, tried for a while on my own, not an easy instrument to learn. I dont find crossing over too much of a problem, depending on what im trying to play & the tempo Cool
Slur & play it cool!
BARRY S.
Shirley

PostPosted: Sat Aug 18, 2007 1:57 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote