Violin Forum/Message Board Forum Index Violin Forum/Message Board
Provided by Violin Vision

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Hey, everyone.

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Violin Forum/Message Board Forum Index -> Introduction, Rules and Suggestions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Robbie Daug

PostPosted: Mon Dec 21, 2015 2:37 pm    Post subject: Hey, everyone. Reply with quote

Hi,
I am actually a rock/pop/folk/blues/sort of jazzy/metal guitarist/singer/songwriter who happens to own a violin. I've hardly played it.

It was a gift to me in 1992, and i've only played it a handful of times.
I stopped playing back then because of the difficult vibrato which is essential to violin playing and rather hard to do (well).

I've recently (summer 2014) picked it up again to try to learn some Irish jigs.
I've learned to play a few rather well, minus the tricky Irish fiddle ornamentation. I have not touched it since then for various reasons. I will again, though.

I am not musically trained, at all. I've learned to read music on my own when i was younger, with several books.
I like to play by ear, guessing each note and phrase as i go along.
I can read music and can understand where the notes are on my other instruments but i am still learning the violin (sort of).
I can not sight read all that well as i have not practiced it very much.

I am 54 now and have never tried to be a great sight reader.

I like to incorporate my "off" (wrong) notes and try to use other phrases to incorporate my off notes and try to make something fit musically.
That is something that works for me on a guitar, but the violin is still a strange instrument for me on which to improvise, and i don't really fully understand the neck.