Violin Forum/Message Board Forum Index Violin Forum/Message Board
Provided by Violin Vision

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

New player looking for resources.

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Violin Forum/Message Board Forum Index -> Musician's Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Andrew B

PostPosted: Fri Oct 12, 2007 1:36 am    Post subject: New player looking for resources. Reply with quote

Hey people, hows it going?

I just started playing the violin just over a month ago after having considered it for a while. I have to say I love it (although I am not very good at it yet), and I expect my love for the instrument will only increase as I get better.

On that front however, I was wondering if people could suggest learning resources on all musical fronts regarding the violin (and music in general), from theory (playing and composition), to practice techniques for playing, ear training, and more.

I am pretty much looking for anything anyone has to offer, as I am hungry for knowledge and new methods to help me master my instrument. I am taking private lessons, but there is only so much my instructor can show me in the half hour a week I see him, and I want to start the self learning process to accelerate my progress.

Thanks in advance.
Verdi

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 3:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Andrew, you should state a specific question, you might get more response. Your question was a little broad. I understand your enthusiasm, I just started playing too. The internet is a great learning resource. But it's best to get a teacher. Good luck.
Andrew B

PostPosted: Mon Oct 15, 2007 6:36 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I understand what you mean by my question being broad, but that was intentional because I am looking to study a broad spectrum of information.