Violin Forum/Message Board Forum Index Violin Forum/Message Board
Provided by Violin Vision

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

violin positions

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Violin Forum/Message Board Forum Index -> Musician's Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Greg M

PostPosted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 8:26 pm    Post subject: violin positions Reply with quote

could someone clarify how to know what position to play in on the sheet music. I have been practising on my own and through the internet for about 2 years. I the suzuki 4 book there is numbers above and below the same note. Some of the sheet music I ordered on line are 3rd position practise material but I think the numbers above the notes are in reference to what finger to use. I am kind of confused and stuck on this bit of learning
JG

PostPosted: Sat Oct 21, 2017 3:56 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Arabic numerals on violin music indicate fingers. Most players and editors only put them at the points where the player is to change positions. So for example a D scale that runs up to high D will only show a 1 at the high A, meaning shift to third position at that point. But in instruction books you may find more complete fingering.

Some editors use Roman numerals to indicate which string (I for E, etc.), others use the letter names for that purpose. And a few use the Roman numerals to indicate position, so that III means to play in third-- but this would be found only in study material.

In general, for solo violin playing you are left on your own to work out fingering, so you'll see different players taking the same passage in different positions. But in an orchestra, normally everyone uses the same fingerings and bowings. Hope this helps.