Violin Forum/Message Board Forum Index Violin Forum/Message Board
Provided by Violin Vision

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Question on set-up of action for synthetic vs. steel strings

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Violin Forum/Message Board Forum Index -> Violin Making and Restoration Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
jlatorre

PostPosted: Wed Dec 12, 2007 1:11 pm    Post subject: Question on set-up of action for synthetic vs. steel strings Reply with quote

Greetings, all.

To introduce myself, I'm a very novice player and builder, having partially assembled a Stewart-Macdonald 4/4 kit and bought a used Florea Oradea with intent to learn how to play.

From my reading, I gather that you want a clearance of about 2.8-3 mm from the end of the fingerboard to the string for the E, and from 4-5 mm for the G. Since my Florea came with those clearances of 7 and 10 respectively, I can only conclude that either the bridge is a poorly fitted replacement or nobody at the factory checked the specs before it went out the door. (I suspect that the high action might have been what discouraged the original owner from keeping the instrument.)

However, I've set up enough guitars to know that the action for synthetic strings is usually set up far higher than for steel strings, and wonder if those specs were valid for some synthetic strings that the violin may have originally come with. Is this the case, or is the action on a violin identical for steel and synthetic?

If the lf the former, I'll consider putting synthetic strings on the Florea. If the latter, I'll just cut down the bridge (but come to think of it, I guess I should first check the neck angle to see if that might have changed for the worse).