Violin Forum/Message Board Forum Index Violin Forum/Message Board
Provided by Violin Vision

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

My first Violin
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Violin Forum/Message Board Forum Index -> Musician's Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
HarmySandwhich

PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2008 3:17 pm    Post subject: My first Violin Reply with quote

Hi,
I've been playing guitar for about 6 years but I've always wanted to play Violin, specifically for Folk, Jazz and Country music. My influences on guitar are Merle Travis, Chet Atkins, Les Paul & Mary Ford, Django Reinhardt, Brad Paisley and the Dixie Chicks. You can see from these artists the sort of music I would ultimately like to play on Violin - melodic and tuneful fiddle.

Being a long time player of a stringed instrument, I understand the difference between entry level and intermediate models. I know most budget instruments are horrendous and will often discourage you from practicing which is why I have opted for an intermediate model. Another thing I have considered is the type of wood used. The wood used on a guitar is vastly important as far as intonation goes. Arguably, the lacquer and varnish is just as important. I assume this will be the same for any other stringed instrument? I know I wouldn't be happy with an entry level model?

Looking around, i've spotted some excellent buys from Elida* although the one which has really won my heart is from Singing Chicken** - A Stentor 1875 Elysia. It sounds perfect for my need: selected fine maple woods, full size, high gloss varnish with an ebony fingerboard.