Violin Forum/Message Board Forum Index Violin Forum/Message Board
Provided by Violin Vision

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Just a Dream? Or could it be a Reality?
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Violin Forum/Message Board Forum Index -> Violin Making and Restoration Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Fiddledeedee

PostPosted: Fri Mar 07, 2008 3:47 pm    Post subject: Just a Dream? Or could it be a Reality? Reply with quote

Ok...I'm a newbie. Very Happy 38 yr old female. But here's my thing. I've been playing violin now for 2 years. I seriously cannot put this thing down. I started with a student violin, upgraded to a intermeditt 1 year ago that I purchased from a luthier. and at this moment I own 6 total. The last 5 came with-in the past 3 months. 2 are in sad shape, and need major restoration.

Anyways. I'm very interested in repairing and restoring violins as a hobbie and possibly as a professional years from now. I have looked for schools on line and for apprentice opportunities but having a family makes it almost impossible to travel and take up 1-3 years away from my 5 yr. old, husband, and much needed job, to go to school. There are no schools like this in my area ( cannot afford them anyways) and the closest luthier is about a 2hr. drive and they are not looking for an apprentice with no expierence in the field. I did purchase a few books about making, repairing, etc. And have been to the libary many times, but I need more then just books. The books all seem to repeat after you read them all.

I guess really I'm looking for your opinion on what to do? I hate to give up on dream, but I'm lost on what to try next. Any sugestions would be great.

Oh and sorry for the mis-spellings. It's not one of my best quailtys. Confused
Chet Bishop