Violin Forum/Message Board Forum Index Violin Forum/Message Board
Provided by Violin Vision

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

violin making
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Violin Forum/Message Board Forum Index -> Violin Making and Restoration Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Seahawkwalt

PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2008 2:06 pm    Post subject: violin making Reply with quote

Hello. I am interested in making violins. I have decided on the book "The art of violin making" for my reference based on reviews. I have zero experience with woodworking unfortunately. Are there any instructional videos one could recommend? Secondly, how can I locate any close seminars? I live in Athens, Tn. It would be difficult with my family/work situation to attend a seminar for 1 to 2 weeks...are there any online or short seminars? Lastly, where can I find a list of required tools? (how much would you estimate the total cost for the required tools?) And where would the most economical place to buy them be? I appreciate any input and thanks in advance.
Seahawkwalt Smile
Chet Bishop

PostPosted: Wed Mar 19, 2008 4:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, I was expecting people to jump all over this... If you are a doctor, you will have no trouble with the level of instruction given in any books on lutherie. If you really are fearful about the tools, I can only tell you that it is not all that tough to get used to.

I guess I would suggest supplementing the Johnson/Courtnall book you already got with "Violinmaking, Step-by-Step" by Henry Strobel. It has things in a pretty orderly, uncluttered style of writing, and gives tool lists, etc. Ver simple book by comparison. (I have both, among others...)