Violin Forum/Message Board Forum Index Violin Forum/Message Board
Provided by Violin Vision

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Third position - help

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Violin Forum/Message Board Forum Index -> Musician's Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Porcovsky

PostPosted: Tue May 13, 2008 5:12 pm    Post subject: Third position - help Reply with quote

Hello, fiddling friends.

My name is Felipe (a.k.a. Jorge Suíno), from Brazil, and I started learning the violin in early 2006. My teacher started giving me lessons that included the 3rd position several months ago, and I was so overwhelmed with how goddamn hard it was that I ended up "shelving" this issue. Seriously, it's freaking impossible to get the perfect pitch when I shift.

However, I figure that it's been long enough and I should be able to face it head-on by now, so I'd like to know if anybody can provide me with stuff that can help me memorize exactly where my hand's supposed to be when I move over to this position. Visual aids, whatever. Anything.

Thanks Very Happy
Shirley

PostPosted: Wed May 14, 2008 10:27 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hello, Porkovsky! Position work is difficult at first, but the way to feel comfortable in third position (it takes time!) is to memorize just where your left hand is when you slide into position (sliding your finger onto the note is a help). Your hand will probably be snug against the body of the violin - then you just have to remember where is the best place to put down your finger. It will become easier and easier, although perfect intonation every time is a situation devoutly to be wished.