Violin Forum/Message Board Forum Index Violin Forum/Message Board
Provided by Violin Vision

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Violin Feels Strange

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Violin Forum/Message Board Forum Index -> Musician's Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Jack Rushing

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 11:15 pm    Post subject: Violin Feels Strange Reply with quote

I Started playing the violin about a year and a half ago, and according
to my teacher, I am doing quite well. As for myself, I don't know. My
friends say it sounds good, but maybe they are just being nice.
I wanted to ask some of you other violin players if you have days when
the violin feels real friendly, easy to play, and you get your lesson
assignments done pretty quick, and feel sort of satisfied with your work.
Here lately, some days I have noticed that the violin feels strange, and
the bow feels like I am trying to handle a snake. Is this normal?
Thanks.
Jack
Amalia

PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2007 11:51 pm    Post subject: reply Reply with quote

I feel the best when I play twice a day, morning and evening. When I do that, I don't seem to regress between practice sessions. I seem to be able to "pick up where I left off" so to speak.

Now I also should mention, that when I have been working on a piece for a long time, and seem to have stopped making progress, it really helps to NOT play the piece for a couple of weeks. By then my mind seems to have cleared out the problems and just retained the sound I imagine I should be making, and my fingers and bow are somehow able to play that instead of struggling along note by note.
Gizmo

PostPosted: Fri Apr 06, 2007 8:48 am    Post subject: Strange Reply with quote

If my violin handles the same for 2 days in a row I am amazed.