Violin Forum/Message Board Forum Index Violin Forum/Message Board
Provided by Violin Vision

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Milanollo arching delema
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Violin Forum/Message Board Forum Index -> Violin Making and Restoration Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Chris Knowlton

PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2008 3:40 pm    Post subject: Milanollo arching delema Reply with quote

I am a first-time builder working from the Stradivarius Milanollo poster

I recently took my plates to a professional leuthier to get some direction on my arching. He and his assistants examined the plates and made a number of very useful suggestions. I was shown a number of plastic pattern examples of plates by various makers including a Stradivarius model. My exposure to violins is very limited so this for me was an eye opening event.

One assistant, who is schooled in the art, felt my back plate arching was “very close” but after some discussion and comparisons It was clear that my front plate was too “full” almost as if someone had pumped it full of air (my words), especially in the upper and lower bouts.

In an effort to describe my dilemma, here is a little background:

1. I made my cross arch templates from the Milanollo poster by averaging the right and left horizontal arches. That is, I traced one side, laid it over the other side, and drew a curve equal distance between the two. The arching in the upper and lower bouts did not require much “adjusting”.

2. I used the long arch just as it was shown on the poster (this may have been a mistake but it shouldn’t have caused the plate to be higher or to look too full).

3. My plates did not yet have the fluting cut so the arching as a whole was still about 1mm high.