Violin Forum/Message Board Forum Index Violin Forum/Message Board
Provided by Violin Vision

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Question re: New Student - initial interview?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Violin Forum/Message Board Forum Index -> Musician's Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
mshikibu

PostPosted: Sun May 10, 2009 6:17 pm    Post subject: Question re: New Student - initial interview? Reply with quote

This email is addressed to anyone who has ever either started private lessons on an instrument, or given them. I am curious about how other teachers screen new, prospective students, if they do, and what procedures or processes they use to determine if they'd like to work with a new student.

As a teacher, I would like to avoid at least some of the following difficulties:

1. Students who think they're going to learn the instrument in a very brief period of time;
2. Students who are rude to me, talk back to me at lessons;
3. Students who bring other, way too advanced, materials and/or CD's to lessons, expecting me to teach them that;
4. Students who don't follow directions, don't practice what I indicate, don't get the materials I request;
5. Students who are always late, or don't show up, or call an hour before the lesson;
6. Students who change their lesson time every week;
7. Parents who push their children beyond where the children need to be;
8. Parents who forget to pay the fees on time.

I do have a lesson policy which I send via email initially, and also provide in hard copy with a signature line, at the first lesson. [See: http://beststudentviolins.com/Studio.html ] Most of my students are absolutely wonderful, but I do get some strange ones.

TIA,
Connie
Musicalion