Violin Forum/Message Board Forum Index Violin Forum/Message Board
Provided by Violin Vision

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Are shoulder rests necessary?
Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Violin Forum/Message Board Forum Index -> Musician's Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Ajakoda

PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2009 1:40 pm    Post subject: Are shoulder rests necessary? Reply with quote

Hi, i'm new to violin as well as this forum.

I've been playing maybe a month now and I haven't been using a shoulder rest. Should i invest in one? Are they a good idea for beginners?

Thanks in advance.
Leucippus

PostPosted: Fri Jul 03, 2009 7:36 pm    Post subject: Re: Are shoulder rests necessary? Reply with quote

Ajakoda wrote:
Hi, i'm new to violin as well as this forum.

I've been playing maybe a month now and I haven't been using a shoulder rest. Should i invest in one? Are they a good idea for beginners?

Thanks in advance.

It's been my experience that eveyone should do whatever feels right for them. If you're comfortable without one, then this is right for you.

I absolutely need one because I have a long neck. Typically the idea of a shoulder rest is to lift the violin up to fill the gap between your shoulder and your chin. If you have a very short neck then a shoulder rest may actually be neary impossible for you to use. On the other hand, if you're bending your head way over to hold the violin then a shoulder rest could do wonders for you.

I've heard some people suggest that a shoulder rest holds the violin up off your shoulder and therefore allows it to vibrate more freely giving it more volume and tone. However, I doubt that this is the main attraction of shoulder rests.