Violin Forum/Message Board Forum Index Violin Forum/Message Board
Provided by Violin Vision

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Learing to play Irish fiddle by "ear"

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Violin Forum/Message Board Forum Index -> Musician's Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Karrie

PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2009 12:34 pm    Post subject: Learing to play Irish fiddle by "ear" Reply with quote

I am a newbie and loving my new violin that I bought to learn Irish fiddle music but am curious about what people mean when they say that Irish fiddle music tends to be taught and learned by ear? I've had a couple of lessons and my instructor said she teaches both sheet music and by ear so we havent come anywhere near that yet, we're just concentrating on the extreme basics so far.
By ear- does that mean that an instructor repeats a few measures over and over again while you watch the finger placement on certain strings? For the life of me, I am wondering if I can succeed with this since I learned piano a million years ago by sheet music only. I'm not tone deaf, just curious about making the transistion to learning and memorizing tunes without sheet music.
If you have learned or are learning by ear, how is this happening? Thanks all!
caeman

PostPosted: Thu Aug 06, 2009 3:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Learning by ear means to listen to the music, then figure out that way. When you hear a note, you try to find it on the fingerboard. Repeat until you know the whole song.

It helps to already have an idea where D, E, F#, G, A, B and C# are for the vast majority of irish trad written in D major.
Karrie

PostPosted: Fri Aug 07, 2009 1:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote