Violin Forum/Message Board Forum Index Violin Forum/Message Board
Provided by Violin Vision

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

A bit of a problem-any advice?

Post new topic   Reply to topic    Violin Forum/Message Board Forum Index -> Musician's Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
WhiteWolf

PostPosted: Thu Sep 24, 2009 9:56 pm    Post subject: A bit of a problem-any advice? Reply with quote

I've been playing for about 4 1/2 years now and I really do like playing, but I'm having a bit of a problem with it now. I’ve been working on the Devil’s Trill for quite a while, and when I first started going to a new teacher I came in playing it well and we made a lot of progress on it. Because of this, she assumed that I was well educated in music theory, which I am not. I had been playing it by ear although I do look at the notes and can read them. But I can’t read key signature and I wasn't keeping time. She finally realized this when I had difficulty with a much simpler piece that I hadn't heard often enough. She had me do about four months of the basics in music and this is where I got screwed up. She treated it like I just needed a refresher on it instead of needing to be taught it. As a result I understood very little and have made miniscule progress. Now I'm stuck. We are not doing music theory any more, we're only playing simple songs (no Devil's Trill) Crying or Very sad . I don't think she knows what to do with me anymore. On the one hand, I can play difficult pieces succsessfully, on the other, I don't know music theory very well. I have also not learned how to vibrato yet. She showed me an exercise and when I asked how to do use vibrato is songs, she just told me if I kept doing it I'd eventually (magically) start playing with it. Rolling Eyes Maybe I'm just slow, but I fail to see how slid